Group Members

Principle Investigator


Professor Ou Chen

Principle Investigator


Assistant professor, Chemistry, Brown University
Research scientist, Chemistry, MIT
Post-doctoral, Chemistry, MIT
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Florida
B.S., Chemical Physics, University of Science and Technology of China
Email: ouchen@brown.edu
Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Post-doctoral Researchers


Dr. Yasutaka Nagaoka

Post-doctoral Researcher


Post-doc fellow, Chemistry, Brown University
Post-doc associate, Chemistry, University of Florida
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Florida, 2014
M.S., Chemistry, Keio University, 2008
B.S., Chemistry, Keio University
Email: yasuyasu@brown.edu
Blog: https://yasunanoyo.blogspot.com

Graduate Students


Katie Hills-Kimball

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Chemistry, Plymouth State University, 2014
Email: katie_hills-kimball@brown.edu

Yucheng Yuan

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
M.S., Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Tianjin University, 2015
B.S., Pharmaceutical Sciences, Tianjin University, 2012
Email: yucheng_yuan@brown.edu

Hua Zhu

Graduate Student


Ph. D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Chemistry, Fudan University, 2015
Email: hua_zhu@brown.edu

Hanjun Yang

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Chemistry, Peking University, 2016
Email: hanjun_yang@brown.edu

Tong Cai

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Chemistry, Peking University, 2017
B.A., Economics (Double major), Peking University, 2017
Email: tong_cai@brown.edu

Junyu Wang

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
M.S., Materials of Science and Engineering, University of Florida, 2017
B.S., Chemistry, Southeast University, 2015
Email: junyu_wang@brown.edu

Lacie Dube

Graduate Student


Chemistry doctoral student, Brown University
B.S. Chemistry, University of Connecticut, 2019
Email: lacie_dube@brown.edu

Norah (Na) Jin

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Animal Science, Zhejiang University, 2019
Email: na_jin@brown.edu

Visting Scholars and Students


Zhenyang Liu

Visiting Student


Visiting Student, Chemistry, Brown University
Ph.D. Candidate, School of Science, Beijing Jiaotong University, 2016-present
M.S. Chemistry, Beijing Jiaotong University, 2016
B.S. Chemistry, Baoding University, 2012
Email: zhenyang_liu@brown.edu

Wenwu Shi

Visiting Student


Ph.D. Candidate in physics, University of electronic science and technology of China, 2016-present MS, Physics, University of electronic science and technology of China, 2016 BS, Physics, Sichuan University of arts and science, 2014 Email: wenwu_shi@brown.edu

Undergrad Students


Lulu Cao

Undergraduate Student


B.S., Candidate in Pre-medical School
Expected 2018
Email: can_cao@brown.edu

Maria Jesus Perez

Undergraduate Student


B.S., Chemical Engineering
Expected 2019
Email: maria_jesus_perez@brown.edu

Yolanda Candler

Undergraduate Student


Undergraduate Student B.S., Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Email: yolanda_candler@brown.edu

Chen Group Alumni


Rui Tan (postdoc)

Hongrong (Donna) Yang (visiting student), Dr. Zhaohong Su (visiting scholar), Dr. Yan Zhao (visiting scholar), Meidan Que (visiting student), Na Chen (visiting student), Dr. Ping Wang

Maria Jesus Perez (undergraduate), Eric Chaykovsky (undergraduate), Kelly Wang (undergraduate)