Group Members

Principle Investigator


Professor Ou Chen

Principle Investigator


Assistant professor, Chemistry, Brown University
Research scientist, Chemistry, MIT
Post-doctoral, Chemistry, MIT
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Florida
B.S., Chemical Physics, University of Science and Technology of China
Email: ouchen@brown.edu
Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Post-doctoral Researchers


Dr. Yasutaka Nagaoka

Post-doctoral Researcher


Post-doc fellow, Chemistry, Brown University
Post-doc associate, Chemistry, University of Florida
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Florida, 2014
M.S., Chemistry, Keio University, 2008
B.S., Chemistry, Keio University
Email: yasuyasu@brown.edu
Blog: https://yasunanoyo.blogspot.com

Graduate Students


Hanjun Yang

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2016
B.S., Chemistry, Peking University, 2012-2016
Email: hanjun_yang@brown.edu

Tong Cai

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2017
B.S., Chemistry, Peking University, 2013-2017
B.A., Economics (Double major), Peking University, 2013-2017
Email: tong_cai@brown.edu

Junyu Wang

Graduate Student


Ph.D. Candidate in Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2017
M.S., Materials of Science and Engineering, University of Florida, 2015-2017
B.S., Chemistry, Southeast University, 2011-2015
Email: junyu_wang@brown.edu

Lacie Dube

Graduate Student


Graduate Student, Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2019
B.S. Chemistry, University of Connecticut, 2015-2019
Email: lacie_dube@brown.edu

Norah (Na) Jin

Graduate Student


Graduate Student, Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2019
B.S., Animal Science, Zhejiang University, 2015-2019
Email: na_jin@brown.edu

Jeremy Schneider

Graduate Student


Graduate Student, Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2020
M.A.T, Chemistry, Stony Brook University, 2018
B.S., Chemistry, Stony Brook University, 2017
Email: jeremy_schneider@brown.edu

Peter Saghy

Graduate Student


Graduate Student, Chemistry, Brown University, Since 2020
Visiting Student at the Rowland Institute at Harvard, 2019-2020
BS and Master Student at the University of Edinburgh 2015-2020
Email: peter_sahgy@brown.edu

Visting Scholars and Students


Undergrad Students


Lulu Cao

Undergraduate Student


Candidate in Medical School
Expected 2024
Email: can_cao@brown.edu

Aditi Patel

Undergraduate Student


Concentrating in Biomedical Engineering
Expected 2023
Email: aditi_patel@brown.edu

Chen Group Alumni


Rui Tan (postdoc)

Hongrong (Donna) Yang (visiting student), Dr. Zhaohong Su (visiting scholar), Dr. Yan Zhao (visiting scholar), Meidan Que (visiting student), Na Chen (visiting student), Dr. Ping Wang

Maria Jesus Perez (undergraduate), Eric Chaykovsky (undergraduate), Kelly Wang (undergraduate)

Yucheng Yuan

Graduate Student


Postdoctoral Associate, Boston College, 2020
Postdoctoral Associate, Brown University, 2020
Ph.D. Chemistry, Brown University, 2020
M.S., Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Tianjin University, 2015
B.S., Pharmaceutical Sciences, Tianjin University, 2012
Email: yucheng_yuan@alumni.brown.edu

Wenwu Shi

Visiting Student


Visiting Student, Chemistry, Brown University
BS, Physics, Sichuan University of arts and science, 2014
Email: wenwu_shi@brown.edu

Zhenyang Liu

Visiting Student


Visiting Student, Chemistry, Brown University
B.S. Chemistry, Baoding University, 2012
Email: zhenyang_liu@brown.edu

Hua Zhu

Graduate Student


Postdoctoral Associate, MIT, 2020
Ph. D. Chemistry, Brown University, 2020
B.S., Chemistry, Fudan University, 2015
Email: hua_zhu@alumni.brown.edu

Katie Hills-Kimball

Graduate Student


Graduation Year: 2020
Ph. D., Chemistry, Brown University
B.S., Chemistry, Plymouth State University, 2014
Email: katie_hills-kimball@alumni.brown.edu

Maria Jesus Perez

Undergraduate Student


Graduation Year: 2019
B.S., Chemical Engineering, Brown University
Email: maria_jesus_perez@brown.edu

Yolanda Candler

Undergraduate Student


Graduation Year: 2020
B.S., Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Brown University
Email: yolanda_candler@brown.edu